Profile of Participants



Tu Weiming

Professor Tu Weiming is the Director of the Institute for Advanced Humanistic Studies at Peking University and Peking University Chair Professor of Humanities, and he is a research professor and senior fellow of the Asia Center at Harvard University. He is a renowned scholar in the field of Chinese Confucian humanism. He was appointed by Kofi Annan as a member of the United Nations' "Group of Eminent Persons" to facilitate the dialogue among civilizations in 2001.

Session 1



Tim Curtis

Dr. Tim Curtis is the Chief of the Regional Culture Unit in the UNESCO Bangkok Office, and he is responsible for coordinating and implementing UNESCO's Culture Programme in Southeast Asia. He has been working on culture issues in international contexts for the last fifteen years, first as a cultural anthropologist and then in various posts for UNESCO.



Amereswar Galla

Professor Galla is currently the Executive Director of the International Institute for the Inclusive Museum, and he was Vice President of the International Council of Museums, He was also President of the Executive Committee in the Asia-Pacific region.





Dawnhee Yim

Professor Dawnhee Yim is a distinguished professor at Dongguk University, Republic of Korea. She is also the Vice Chairperson for ICHCAP's governing board. She is a former international juror for the UNESCO Proclamation of the Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.





Gaura Mancacaritadipura

Mr. Gaura Mancacaritadipura has dedicated many years to studying and becoming a master Indonesian dalang. Currently, he is the Vice-Chairman for the Indonesian National Kris Secretariat and an advisor to the Department of Culture and Tourism, the KADIN Indonesia Foundation, the Indonesian National Commission for UNESCO, and the Centre for Research and Development of Culture.

Session 2



Lourdes Arizpe

Currently, Professor Lourdes Arizpe is a professor at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) and a researcher at the university's Regional Center for Multidisciplinary Research. She served as the Assistant Director-General for Culture at UNESCO (1994-1998).



Samuel Lee

Dr. Samuel Lee, Director-General of ICHCAP, served as the Secretary-General for the Korean National Commission for UNESCO and the Asia-Pacific Centre of Education for International Understanding, Also, Dr. Lee was president of the Korean Philosophical Association.



Kyung-koo Han

Professor Kyung-koo Han of the College of Liberal Studies, Seoul National University, was educated at Seoul National University (B.A. and M.A) and at Harvard University (PhD in Anthropology). He served as editor-in-chief for the Korean Cultural Anthropology and Korean Social Science Journal.



Adi Meretui Tuvou Ratunabuabua

Ms Adi Meretui Tuyou Ratunabuabua is currently the Pacific Heritage Hub manager and president of the Regional Pacific Islands Museums Association (PIMA). She was the Principal Cultural Development Officer in the Department of Culture and Heritage.

148

Session 3



Noriko Aikawa

Professor Aikawa is currently an advisor for the Agency for Cultural Affairs of Japan. She is also a subsidiary body juror for UNESCO on the Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity. She is the former chief of intangible cultural heritage at UNESCO Headquarters, Paris.



Fernando Villafuerte Medina

Mr. Fernando Villafuerte Medina, is currently Director-General of the Regional Centre for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Latin America (CRESPIAL). He was also a programme officer for the international development programme at the Ministry of Education of Peru.



Yang Zhi

Mr. Yang Zhi is Director-General of International Training Center for the Intangible Cultural Heritage in the Asia-Pacific Region under the Auspices of UNESCO (CRIHAP). He was assistant Director-General of External Relations in the Ministry of Culture in China.



Sangmee Bak

Professor Sangmee Bak is currently a professor of Cultural Anthropology and the Head of the Division of International Studies at Hankuk University of Foreign Studies in Seoul, Republic of Korea. She received a PhD in 1994 and a Master of Arts degree in 1992 in Cultural Anthropology from Harvard University. She was a Visiting Scholar at Harvard University for the Department of Anthropology in 2007.

Session 4



Seong-Yong Park

Dr. Seong-Yong Park is currently Assistant Director-General of ICHCAP. He is also Adjunct Professor of Comparative Folklore Studies in the School of Asia Cultural Studies at Chung-Ang University in Seoul and Expert Advisor to the Cultural Heritage Committee of the Cultural Heritage Administration of Korea.



Urtnasan Norov

Mr. Urtnasan Norov is currently Chairman of the Board of Directors of Foundation for the Protection of Natural and Cultural Heritage. He is the former Secretary-General of the Mongolian National Commission for UNESCO (2002–2010). and Head of the Department of External Cooperation at the Ministry of the Education, Culture and Science in Mongolia.



Le Thi Minh Lv

Currently, Dr. Le Thi Minh Ly is Director of the Center for Research and Promotion of Cultural Heritage of Vietnam. She is the former Deputy Director of the Department of Cultural Heritage, Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism, Vietnam.



Faroghat Azizi

Dr. Faroghat Azizi is Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Culture in Tajikistan and the Chairperson on the board of Odam va Olam, an NGO for intangible cultural heritage in Tajikistan.



Ananya Bhattacharya

Ms. Ananya Bhattacharya is Director of Banglanatak, which is a UNESCO Accredited NGO. She is actively involved in various programmes for ICH safeguarding and promoting community involvement in India.

150

Session 4



Akatsuki Takahashi

Currently, Dr. Akatsuki Takahashi is Programme Specialist for Culture at the UNESO Office for the Pacific States (Apia, Samoa). She was Programme Manager for the Asia-Pacific Cultural Centre for UNESCO (ACCU) in Japan.



Roger Janelli

Roger L. Janelli, Professor Emeritus of Folklore and Ethnomusicology as well as East Asian Languages and Cultures at Indiana University in Bloomington, has published a number of articles related to culture and heritage, including 'The Transmission of Intangible Cultural Heritage: Current Implementation and Proposals for Improvement'.



Ade Meyliala

Ms. Ade Meyliala is currently Operation Director of Taman Mini Indonesia Indah, which is an NPO for various Indonesian Ethnic Cultures.



Flora Elena Mirano

Professor Flora Elena Mirano is Dean of College of Arts and Letters of University of the Philippines and Chair of National Folk Artist Awards (GAMABA, Gawad Manlilikha ng Bayan)



Ho Cheol Ryu

Professor Ho Cheol Ryu is currently Professor of Cultural Heritage Policy at the Anyang University in the Republic of Korea. He published many articles related to cultural heritage, including 'The Cultural Heritage Management and Safeguarding of the Original form of Culture'.